The India Cements - TTT ITF Juniors ‘08
The India Cements – TTT ITF Juniors was held at TTT from 6th to 13th Sept 2008. This was a Grade
 - event sanctioned by International Tennis Federation and was hosted by TTT for the fifth consecutive year. Nearly 150 players participated. Besides the top Indian talent, there were promising youngsters from countries such as Japan, UK, Malaysia and Sri Lanka.

After a hectic two days of qualifying rounds, the rains struck. The matches had to be shifted to the hard courts of the SDAT Stadium in Nungambakkam to keep up the schedule. After three days, the attention shifted back to TTT, and fortunately there was no more interruption.

The finals were held on Saturday, 13th Sept ’08. Mr M Kumaresh, Sr Manager (Marketing Services), The India Cements Ltd and Vice President, The Chennai Football Association, distributed the prizes to the winners. The Boys’ Singles title was lifted by Saurabh Singh, a trainee with Apollo Tyres Mission 2018 Programme, after a tense three-hour battle with Mudappa. Nimisha Mohan from Bangalore won the Girls’ Singles title.

TTT is thankful to The India Cements Ltd for title-sponsoring this tournament.


Indian Boys U14 team finish third at World Junior Tennis Competition

The Indian Boys Under 14 yr team finished 3rd in the recently concluded (9 Aug, 08) World Junior Tennis Competition held at Prostejov, Czech Republic. It is the first time that an Indian Junior team had entered the semifinals of an ITF Team Championship.

At extreme right is TTT trainee Ramkumar Ramanathan

Dr Sheila Steven inducted in TTT Board

Dr Sheila Steven, the newly appointed Principal of the YMCA College of Physical Education, has been co-opted as a Trustee of TTT in the place of Dr Ms Ranjini Esther, the former Principal of the College.

Dr Sheila Steven has specialized in Sports Psychology and has undergone training at Springfield College, Massachusetts, USA. She has represented her University in Ball Badminton and the District in Basketball. She has completed 22 years of service in the YMCA College.

While welcoming Dr Sheila Steven, TTT places on record its appreciation for the services rendered by Dr Ranjini Esther during her tenure as trustee.

Chandra to join TTT as Technical Director

TTT is happy to announce that Mr T Chandrasekaran will be joining the team shortly. Till very recently, Chandra was with All India Tennis Association (AITA).

One of the top ten players in the country for more than a decade, Chandra has won more than 100 career titles in various categories including victories at the International Invitation Tennis Tournament held at Colombo, Sri Lanka (1979), and a Gold medal in World Railway Games held in New Delhi (1987).

Chandra passed N.I.S in the year 1984-85. He worked with the prestigious Britannia Amritraj Tennis (BAT) Scheme at Chennai from 1985 to 1991 and thereafter with Dharam Hinduja All India Tennis Association Tennis Academy (DHAITA) in Delhi from 1993 to 1996. This was followed by a brief stint at TTT for a couple of years before he moved over to AITA.

Chandra can be credited with developing and working with several Indian Davis and Federation Cup players and National Champions. He is the proud recipient of an award from Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports for the medal-winning performance of Sania Mirza in the Asian Championship in Uzbekistan in the year 2004 and has received Dilip Bose Memorial Award from AITA in 2007 for Contribution to Indian Tennis.

As Technical Director at TTT, Chandra is capable of heading TTT’s intensive programme aimed at developing players of international caliber.


Marker Dillyrajan weds

Marker Dillyrajan, who joined TTT in 1992, married Radha on 14 July 2008. TTT wishes them the very best.

TTT internal tournament (only for TTT Trainees): Last week of Dec 08

25th Annual TTT State Ranking Tournament: Jan 2009 (dates to be announced)

Passing Shot is edited by Ms Meera Srikant, designed by Layam Advertising and e-delivered by Vector Solutions.